Territory Acknowledgment

Our school stands on the ancestral and unceded territory of the Hul’q’umi’num (Hul-ka-MEE-num) peoples of the Quw’utsun (Kow-WUT-sun) (Cowichan) Valley.  This traditional territory is shared by the Halalt (Ha-lalt), Stz’uminus (Tz-MAY-nus / Sh-MAY-nus), Hwlitsum, Ts’uubaa-asatx (Tsoo-bah-seht), Lyackson (Lay-ik-sen), Penelakut (Pen-EL-ah-kut) and Quw'utsun (Kow-WUT-sun) First Nations whose continued stewardship of this sacred land we honour today.  We acknowledge with gratitude and respect all the ancestors of this land where we are very fortunate to live and work.